Posted in ****3.5 Stars****, ARCs Reviews, Authors /PR, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M ARC, Promotions, Release Day Reviews, Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Release Day Review~Antisocial by Heidi Cullinan~

 

35652776Title: Antisocial
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Publisher: Self-Published
Page Count: 341 pages
Release Date: August 8, 2017
Genre(s): M/M Romance, New Adult & College
Reviewer: ~Wendy~
Rating: 3.5 Stars out of 5

~Synopsis~

A single stroke can change your world.

Xander Fairchild can’t stand people in general and frat boys in particular, so when he’s forced to spend his summer working on his senior project with Skylar Stone, a silver-tongued Delta Sig with a trust fund who wants to make Xander over into a shiny new image, Xander is determined to resist. He came to idyllic, Japanese culture-soaked Benten College to hide and make manga, not to be transformed into a corporate clone in the eleventh hour. 
Skylar’s life has been laid out for him since before he was born, but all it takes is one look at Xander’s artwork, and the veneer around him begins to crack. Xander himself does plenty of damage too. There’s something about the antisocial artist’s refusal to yield that forces Skylar to acknowledge how much his own orchestrated future is killing him slowly…as is the truth about his gray-spectrum sexuality, which he hasn’t dared to speak aloud, even to himself.
Through a summer of art and friendship, Xander and Skylar learn more about each other, themselves, and their feelings for one another. But as their senior year begins, they must decide if they will part ways and return to the dull futures they had planned, or if they will take a risk and leap into a brightly colored future—together.


amazon  goodreads  author imageedit_38_5670568142


imageedit_132_9608184963coollogo_com-228422073,5ghj

imageedit_9_6491986300


I absolutely loved Heidi Cullinan’s  Carry the Ocean and Shelter the Sea . So when I saw that there was a new book coming out by this amazing author…I jumped on it. 😉

tenor.gif (300×162)

Now I am gonna confess and say that I knew absolutely nothing about this book before I started it.

So imagine my surprise and intrigue when I found out that one of the characters is asexual (or somewhere on the spectrum). I have to admit that I’m pretty clueless when it comes to asexuality or anything really, that falls into the gray area of sexuality. So color me intrigued.

XRJzw.gif (320×256)


Now that said…I also want point out, that there is no sexual content in this story. There is love though….but without the conventional physical part. This didn’t bother me at all because I myself don’t need it to enjoy a good story. I also think it was refreshing to read that love can be shown in many different ways.

I am just putting it out there for those who want to know.

And if you don't know, now you know

This is a story about two young men with a baggage of issues falling in love. Now when I say issues…I am not talking about their sexuality.

Xander is an anti-social the artist, Skylar the golden frat boy.  Both of them are students at the same college, which is how they meet when they start working on a project together. During all this, they become closer and fall in love.

They explore their love and sexuality and it was sweet and beautiful.

52002e854500ed197d103bf39fb629e3.gif (500×295)


Now, why not a full 4 stars….

Well, the book kind of lost me with all the Japanese culture.I don’t know anything about it and to be honest…I am not really interested either. I also don’t know crap about manga, other than sometimes scrolling through pics on Pinterest.

00_Beyond_Clueless_JSS_V01_1.gif (660×357)

So while I enjoyed this story…there were also parts I struggled with. This is personal preference though.

All in all, it was a very sweet and different YA with a lovely HEA.

coollogo_com-304632246coollogo_com-9102879

imageedit_38_5670568142


 

Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

