Posted in ****3.5 Stars****, ARCs Reviews, By Rating, Dreamspinner Press, Home, LGBT Books, M/M ARC, New Released, Promotions, Release Day Reviews, Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Release Day Review~You Never Know by Mary Calmes~

 

34953898Title: You Never Know 
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Page Count: 200 pages
Release Date: July 21, 2017
Genre(s): M/M, Contemporary Romance
Reviewer: ~Wendy~
Rating: 3.5 Stars out of 5

~Synopsis~

Hagen Wylie has it all figured out. He’s going to live in his hometown, be everybody’s friend, explore new relationships, and rebuild his life after the horrors of war. No muss, no fuss is the plan. He’s well on his way—until he finds out his first love has come home too. Hagen says it’s no big deal, but a chance encounter with Mitch Thayer’s two cute sons puts him directly in the path of the only guy he’s never gotten out of his head.
Mitch returned for three reasons: to raise his sons where he grew up, to move his furniture business and encourage it to thrive, and to win Hagen back. Years away made it perfectly clear the young man he loved in high school is the only one for him. The problem? He left town and they have not talked since.

If Hagen’s going to trust him again, Mitch needs to show him how he’s grown up and isn’t going to let go. They could have a new chance at love… but Hagen is insistent he’s not reviving a relationship with Mitch. Then again, you never know.


imageedit_2_3730204533coollogo_com-22842207****3.5 Stars****3,5ghj

imageedit_27_3195715136


I am a huge Mary Calmes fan…she writes it and I read it. Simple as that. 😛

mEJqw_s-200x150.gif (200×150)

This is a “second chance love” trope and even though it wasn’t my favorite by this author (Jory and Sam will always be my fav), it was still a good read. 😉

Hagen and Wylie were best friends when they were young…which eventually turned into much more. They were supposed to live the rest of their lives together… but they did not.

Mitch joined the NFL and left Hagen. He also married a woman and had 2 kids.

tenor.gif (498×278)

Hagen joined the army and he had a very hard time…Now they are about to cross paths once again…


Mitch is moving back to his home town, with his two sons. He never got over Hagen and he wants another chance. Hagen is in some sort of relationship with Ash ( read “fuckbuddies”)  and even though he still has major feelings for Mitch…he doesn’t just want to give in. We get some push and pull, but for me…I just wanted more. I am a big fan of groveling and for me, it wasn’t quite enough. What can I say…I am a vengeful person. 😛

We get some push and pull, but me…I just wanted more. I am a big fan of groveling and for me, it wasn’t quite enough.

What can I say…I am a vengeful person. 😛

BernieVengeful.gif (250×204)

I also think that there was too much time with Ash…I wanted more time with Mitch and Hagen. It just wasn’t enough to give me that really HEA feel…

Other than that, this was a very nice read and of course, we get Mary’s good old “MINE” formula that I have come to love so much. 😉

tenor.gif (498×233)

All in all, it was very enjoyable and in the end, I was very happy that these guys found their way back together.

coollogo_com-25332564 coollogo_com-163451644 coollogo_com-239251567

imageedit_31_9921166069


dreamspiner p amazon goodreads  author


Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

