Posted in ****4 Stars****, Books in / & Series Highly Rec., By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Series, Reviews by ~Vir~

~Review~Mature Content (Cyberlove #4) by Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell~

 

34934798Title: Mature Content
Authors: Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell
Series: Cyberlove #4
Publisher: Megtino Press
Release Date: June 2, 2017
Genre(s): M/M, Contemporary Romance,
Reviewer: ~Vir~
Rating: 4 Stars out of 5

~Blurb~

My life plan is to be brutally honest all the way to the bank. Don’t believe me? I run a popular YouTube channel called TrashyZane, and my claim to fame is oversharing about every aspect of my personal life. Sometimes while tipsy. Not everyone loves my style, but I have a long history of icing out people who can’t handle me. I have no time for judgmental foolishness.

Except, apparently, when it comes to Beau Starr. His channel is the polar opposite of mine, and so is he. Wholesome, inspirational, and clean-cut. Everything about him should turn me off, but when we hook up following a confrontation at a convention, my world flips upside down. Not only does Beau Starr turn me on, he uses the exact combination of dirty talk and roughness needed to turn me out.

But we still hate each other. I think.


imageedit_11_5093655094Vir****4 Stars****ima4

imageedit_44_8150275859


Beau and Zane: the light and the dark side of the force.

Well, it is more like the light and dark of YouTube, but I wanted to introduce a Star Wars reference because I am a fan, it fits perfectly here and my knowledge about YouTube is poor.

 :

Beau Starr vs TrashyZane
Beautifuls vs skanks.
Positivism vs negativity.
Sugary vs sourness

“As Beau Starr, nothing touched me”

 :

Beau Starr has been created to hide Beau Shields, and Beau (both personas, in this case) has worked hard to be a better person and run away from his past. Beau is pretending to be a man who is not. Every time he is recording one of his videos, he is acting, pretending to be a “perfect guy counselor” for the new generations. And it has to be exhausting to be him… Really. His public face is an act. He is all image. A fraud.

“Zane: You are amusing when you are not being fake as fuck
Beau: excuse you?
Zane: dude, you act differently on YouTube! Even your voice is different. This higher register version of a palatable gay”

What to say about Zane? Dark, hot, eccentric, sexy, messy, cynic and a self-proclaimed misanthrope.

 :

Zane doesn’t trust. He is guarded. He proclaims that he doesn’t want tolerance, he needs full acceptance.
I thought at first he would be darker, more depressed, a lot of more sinister. But he is just brutally honest and he likes to talk about his sex life.

Well, Beau is not what I thought neither. Reading hard wired or at the beginning of this installment, I didn’t know what to expect. He is guarded too (and that´s the reason he is wearing a smiley, happy mask all the time) because Beau has been hurt and he didn´t trust since.


The story starts with both of them calling each other “nemesis”  but I didn’t feel at any moment that they were enemies. Just their public faces were. And their cyber characters are not them.

 :

So I think Beau and Zane were not opposites at all. It’s just that they were so shielded behind their YouTube personas, that they were not prepared to become their inner selfs. If that made any sense.

Zane watched me now, his light green eyes clear and his expression relaxed. I hadn’t seen him like this before, and it embarrassed me. Why was he letting me see him like this? Why did he show everything”

These two are dirty, that’s for sure! This book pushes all your buttons in the lust, kinky department. They like it rough and it’s great to witness how Beau becomes a sexual animal every time Zane is near him (or texting him, videotaping him…) because it’s not what we are used to from Mr. Beautiful.

When our MCs bare their souls and take off their masks (beau’s falseness and Zane’s guardedness) they discover they are something near to soul mates. They complement each other perfectly. Two faces of the same coin. Together, they find a balance between two forces.

 :

(Yeah I know. Doesn’t fit. But at this point, I have decided it is a Star Wars theme review)


The best: Ian’s cameo (I love the guy), the humor (as usual), the writing (of course), the texting and the dirty talk. I really am a dirty-talk junkie.

I have to say that, sadly, even if I liked and enjoyed this couple (and more the second half where the authors deepened in the characters and the relationship) I didn´t LOVE them. And I hate myself for it, because I really, really wanted to love every single thing.In this enemies-to-lovers story, something was missing…something was a bit off… 

I am a huge fan of this series. I gave the previous books (the three of them) 5 stars without thinking about it for a second, so maybe my expectations were too high…
Or maybe it’s just that is I recently finished Illegal Contact and that was a GOOD enemies to lovers book.  Probably is wrong to judge this book regarding my previous read but, since both are Santino’s I couldn’t help the comparison.Probably it was my fault, as I said, because of the high expectation I had.

Anyway, I recommend this book to any fan of the Cyberlove Series. 

imageedit_31_9921166069


amazon goodreads author author


Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

