Posted in ****4 Stars****, ARCs Reviews, Books in / & Series Highly Rec., By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M ARC, M/M Series, New Released, Promotions, Release Day Reviews, Reviews by ~Simone~

~Release Day Review~Mature Content (Cyberlove #4) by Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell~

 

34934798Title: Mature Content
Authors: Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell
Series: Cyberlove #4
Publisher: Megtino Press
Release Date: June 2, 2017
Genre(s): M/M, Contemporary Romance,
Reviewer: ~Simone~
Rating: 4 Stars out of 5

~Blurb~

My life plan is to be brutally honest all the way to the bank. Don’t believe me? I run a popular YouTube channel called TrashyZane, and my claim to fame is oversharing about every aspect of my personal life. Sometimes while tipsy. Not everyone loves my style, but I have a long history of icing out people who can’t handle me. I have no time for judgmental foolishness.

Except, apparently, when it comes to Beau Starr. His channel is the polar opposite of mine, and so is he. Wholesome, inspirational, and clean-cut. Everything about him should turn me off, but when we hook up following a confrontation at a convention, my world flips upside down. Not only does Beau Starr turn me on, he uses the exact combination of dirty talk and roughness needed to turn me out.

But we still hate each other. I think.


imageedit_11_5093655094simone1

Mature Content (Cyberlove #4)

by Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell

****4 Stars****ima4

imageedit_44_8150275859


Holy kink, this was hot!!!

First things first: DO NOT READ THIS IN PUBLIC if you don’t want to get caught hyperventilating and with a beet-red face without wanting to explain why. Boy, was I glad that I had time off from work, so I could read the book at home and believe me when I say that my urge to take one cold shower after another was never stronger. These authors sure know how to write sex scenes and if you like the whole package of dirty talk, bondage, kink and sex toys while getting down and dirty you will be in book heaven. Promise!

Two men who like it rough, one on the receiving and the other on the performing end, should be the perfect match, right? Umm, wrong. Okay, one challenge and a hot and kinky night together prove that they are if it weren’t for the teensy-weensy fact that they hate each other. With a passion.

“He ran his gaze down my body, heating my skin inch by inch on the way down, and freezing it on the way up until he met my eyes with a glare.”

TrashyZane and Beau Starr are both…. 

…celebrities… but their images are as different as day and night.

Zane is as real as it gets. He rebels against being pigeonholed and his bias for fishnet stockings is part of that. His channel is more like a diary about his everyday life and his snappy mouth has absolutely no filter. He is not ashamed to tell his subscribers about his preferences in bed, right down to the last detail, and to post the messy visuals to prove it.

Coming from a hypocrite parental home, he learned to stand on his own two feet early on and made it his purpose to fight against hypocrisy and his pet peeve slut-shaming, only with the support of his loving, caring and absolutely awesome grandmother.

Beau Starr is more illusion than reality. His image is that of the nice boy next door, always with a smile on his face and a perfect outward appearance.

Messy

That is nothing but a facade, though. Beau comes with baggage. Baggage in form of his ex-boyfriend who preyed on him and betrayed his confidence insomuch, that Beau had a hard time to leave it all behind and gain control over his life again. Then there are his parents, who love him, but also love to interfere in his life and make it difficult for him to live up to their standard.

“After years of carefully cultivating my image, I could turn on the charm with ease. Beau Starr was me, but a better version of me, the one who didn’t let anything bother him, who always had a snappy comeback, and who certainly didn’t have a messy past.”

It’s hard for him to trust and let somebody in his life again, especially not someone who seems to be a mess.

“I grabbed the hair at the base of his neck, yanked it down, and crashed my lips onto his. He tasted like alcohol, pop rocks, and bad decisions.”

One passionate and oh so kinky night of sex in a hotel room between Zane and Beau turns their world upside down and reveals that there might be more to the other than meets the eye, even if they are above unwilling to admit it. What seems to be just based on a mutual desire at first, turns gradually into respect and deeper feelings for each other, until one kneejerk reaction on Beau’s part could destroy everything.


First of all, I have to admit that this book was not my favorite in this series. Maybe it was once again a case of too high expectation since I could not wait to get Zane and Beau’s story after reading Hard Wired, but aside from the hot sex scenes the first half of the story fell a bit flat for me. It took me three days to read the first half and only one to read the second. That alone should be indication enough, that the second half made more than up for the first, though. 😉

Personally (and that is really just me), I think that these books should come with an index. Just like Hard Wired, I had some issues with the -admittedly, this time, not gamer, but rather- YouTuber speech… Maybe it is the fact that the guys in this book are not my generation or that English is not my mother tongue, but I had to google quite a lot of words again and the shortcuts they used gave me a feeling that I should play more Scrabble.

But did I already mention the melting-the-paint-of-your-wall hot sex? No? I thought I did.

Well, maybeI should rather show you and let the gif speak for itself…

But of course, this book is more than just about sex…

The story is a great addition to the series and has everything I love about it.Authentic characters. Lots of snark. A bit of angst and drama. A more than believable HEA.

Furthermore, the authors were once again able to give me an understanding of how the cyberworld works (silly me did not even know that YouTubers have agents!) and I always get shiny eyes when it comes to the text messages between the characters. Their banter was friggin hilarious and ohhh, did I love Zane’s humor…

“Most people watch multiple YouTubers. It’s not like Hunger Games where you grab whatever you can get and run for the forest-“

… and his smart mouth…

“Beau is about as appealing as a colonoscopy after Thanksgiving dinner.”


This book proved once again why ‘enemies to lovers’ is one of my favorite tropes and leave it to the authors to pull it off in typical Megtino fashion. Now it is this time of year again where I have to wait for the next book in this series, but I have a suspicion…who will be the next couple…

…Or maybe I should call it hope?… I can not wait to see if I am right… 😀

imageedit_44_8150275859

coollogo_stopcoollogo_comstpo2

imageedit_31_9921166069


amazon goodreads author author


Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

3 thoughts on “~Release Day Review~Mature Content (Cyberlove #4) by Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell~

Leave a Comment

