Posted in ***3 Stars***, ARCs Reviews, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M ARC, New Released, Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Review~The Well by Marie Sexton~

 

34685160Title: The Well
Author: Marie Sexton
Publisher: Self Published
Page Count: 206 pages
Release Date: May 22, 2017
Genre(s): M/M, Contemporary Romance, Paranormal/Suspense
Reviewer: ~Wendy~
Rating: 3 Stars out of 5

 ~Blurb~

Twenty years after prom queen Cassie Kennedy is brutally murdered, six teenagers break into the house where she was killed to hold a séance. Haven knows his cousin Elise only wants to scare the crap out of him and his friends, but he’s willing to put up with one of her pranks if it means a chance to spend a few hours with the new kid in town, Pierce Hunter.
But when morning comes, Elise has disappeared without a trace.

Twelve years later, Pierce and his twin brother Jordan are professional paranormal investigators, starring in their own ghost-hunting TV show. When Pierce calls Haven, insisting they return to the supposedly haunted building one last time, Haven reluctantly agrees. He’s nervous about seeing Pierce again, but he’s determined to get some answers. Did they really speak to Cassie’s ghost that night? What happened to Elise? And the biggest mystery of all – how did she know the secret of the well?


imageedit_4_2007460609coollogo_com-22842207The Well by Marie Sexton

***3 Stars***3stars.png (546×92):

imageedit_44_8150275859


When I read the blurb of this book, I got immediately excited. I mean paranormal investigators..ghosts…sounds all kinds of creepy and mysterious.

Eating GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Which is exactly what I got. Mystery, suspense, and ghosts. What I didn’t get however was a romance story. There is a couple in this book, but that’s not what this book is about. Now it doesn’t say so in the blurb, that it is a romance and I myself am a sucker for mystery and suspense…but still.

I want everyone to be aware of this fact before going in.

Now…I did enjoy this little mysterious story. I would have liked it better with a bit more romance, not gonna lie. But still, it was very enjoyable.

This book skips between the present and the past which tends to annoy me, but in this case, it didn’t. It really added to the mystery.


12 Years ago, a couple of teenagers, including Pierce and Haven, held a seance in a haunted house. The next day, one of them disappeared. Now, 12 years later they are together again (Pierce now being a paranormal investigator), reenacting that night and trying to figure out what exactly happened.

Reaction GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

I can’t say too much about the plot, without spoiler the story, so I won’t. I read and have read a lot of different genres in my life. Thrillers and mystery/suspense being one of them. I don’t mind if a book lacks in the romance department. That said, I would have liked this one better I think if there wasn’t any romance/pairing at all.

Now I felt a bit bereft since that part of the story never really developed.

567247.gif (500×269)

I think readers who enjoy mystery and suspense with a hint of paranormal will definitely like this one.

Readers who are into romance and M/M…maybe not so much.
imageedit_44_8150275859

wendy1wendy2imageedit_27_4286874633


amazon goodreads author


 

Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

