Posted in *****5 Stars*****, Books in / & Series Highly Rec., By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Series, Reviews by ~Simone~

~Review~Consent (Power Exchange #3) by A.J. Rose~

 

22676832

imageedit_11_5093655094simone1imageedit_77_7697208713

Consent (Power Exchange #3) by A.J. Rose

*****5 Stars*****

5ggh

imageedit_5_3277993928


This story will test your boundaries…

… and not only yours, but those of Ben and Gavin, too. And I don’t mean the boundaries of their relationship. I was more than grateful that their steadfast love is the one constant in this book that kept me from ending up as a total mess.

“I love you,” I said, mouthing the edge of his jaw. “You’re my anchor. I don’t know what I’d do without you.”
“I love you, too. And you don’t have to find out. Because I’ve got your back, Gavin. Always.”

 :


Their love is solid as a rock and they find their strength in each other,

…despite every curveball life throws their way. And this time it is challenging, dark and brutal, even more so than in the previous books.

AJ Rose, bestows deeper insight on us, about what a human being is capable of to inflict pain on another person without any remorse and just for the own profit. There is a trigger warning from the author at the beginning of this book and you should take it very seriously.

This book is definitely not for everyone.

For me, the most challenging part reading about everything that happened here was that the events this story deals with are not just fiction, but to some extent brutal reality. At the same time, though, the knowledge that this book deals with such a tender subject was exactly what kept me reading.


Believe me when I say that the author does not sugarcoat anything…

She does not go easy on anyone. Not on Myah and the other victims. Not on Ben and Gavin. And not on the reader. There is no slow buildup, no lulling into a false sense of security at the beginning of the book. With one phone call in the middle of the night, right on the first page, I was thrown head first into the course of events that kept me on edge most of the time.

“It’s Myah. She’s missing.”

What ensues this call is the desperate search for Gavin’s ex-partner and sister-in-law, as well as the hunt for the perps, with Ben, Gavin and Gavin’s brother Cole left on their own and very little to go on.

While time is running out, evidence rather non-existent and most clues leading to a dead end, the nerves of Ben, Gavin and Cole are stretched too thin and all of them are pushed to their limits of how far they would go to save a life.

. . .:

“You are not a monster,” he said, voice low and trembling. “You are a hero.” I kissed the end of his nose. “So are you.”


For me, Myah just rocks. I liked her from her first appearance and of course, I had to know that she will be okay. No, this was by far not an easy read. We also get Myah’s POV in this book and a few times I was pushed against the walls of my comfort zone due to the graphic descriptions, but to be honest this was not even the worst. It was the mind fuck. The implications. To know what happened and to read about the effects it had on everyone involved.

There is no whitewash about the fact that life sometimes is not fair. And it was the fate of the boys, especially of Marshall, the boy we met in Safeword who already went through so much,…

that nearly broke me and I was a sobbing mess.

So much so that I had to put my Kindle away and needed some time to calm down.

Despite the fact that the search for Myah takes on an important role in this story, the main focus was still laid on Ben and Gavin and I loved how far they had come in their love and trust in each other.


There is still some exploring of limits and new territories, though, and even if I normally love my couples being exclusive, there was one scene that made my hormones perform an excited lap dance.

The threesome in this book was one of the hottest ever!

Lust:

The intimacy about it just felt… right. To be honest, I really don’t know if I should be relieved or disappointed that this will remain most certainly a one-time thing. I would love to read more about a certain someone in the future because for me he was more than an interesting side character.


As hard as it was sometimes to keep reading, towards the end I could not put my Kindle down and…

…the epilogue was just the icing on the cake.

I’m more than curious about where the author will take us with Restraint, the next book in this series.

I admire the courage of AJ Rose to pick up such a sensitive topic and deal with it in a quite relentless way -although she was probably aware of the controversies that will be provoked- while at the same time, she always kept sight of the basics…the romance between Ben and Gavin.

…the romance between Ben and Gavin.

imageedit_77_7697208713


amazon-2     coollogo_com-11297536     coollogo_com-138951407


 

Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

