Posted in ****3.5 Stars****, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Review~Honor and Pride by Ann Lister~

 

32266296

wendy1imageedit_33_5317824985

Honor and Pride (Guarding the Gods #2) by Ann Lister

****3.5 Stars****

3.5.png (1545×288):


First, let me start by saying that I absolutely loved Ann Lister’s “Rock God” series.

So naturally, when I found out that there would be a spin-off of that series, I wanted to read all those books too.

This is the second book in the “Guarding the Gods” series and though I enjoyed it, I was a bit confused. I figured with the name of the series, we would also get some celebrities….or at least some roadies from “Black Ice” or “Ivory Tower”. No such luck though. Not even a glimpse of the “Rock Gods” from the previous books, though they are mentioned once or twice.

Dog GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

I was a bit dissapointed with this, though that doesn’t mean the book wasn’t good. It was just not what I expected.


This book is about Fizzbo, PI and security guard of rock stars…

Jaydenkiss's uploaded images - Imgur:

…and Kensey, who once did hair and make-up for the “Rock Gods”.

6Uys5.jpg (963×1222):

Fizzbo has had his eye on Kensey ever since they met on the Europian Tour, but after the fire in Germany (book 1), he hasn’t seen or heard from Kensey. Thankfully his luck changes, when Kensey shows up for the last (mandatory) group therapy session, for those who have been in the fire.


Fizzbo is not about to let this opportunity go by and starts chatting Kensey up and asking him out for a date. Kendey is interested in Fizzbo, but he is also very wary. His past has let him believe that he is only good for a “one and done”, and he isn’t interested in those anymore. But Fizzbo doesn’t take “no” for an answer and Kensey is curious to see what could be. They agree to take things slow, but it doesn’t take very long before the two of them are burning the sheets together.

8153863.gif (400×202)

I always know that I am guaranteed some amazing steam when reading an Ann Lister book.

Fizzbo was such a dirty talker, which Kensey (and me) loved.

“I’m going to make a full meal of feasting on your sweet ass. I will lick and I will fuck that hole with my tongue until you’re screaming so loud the neighbors call the police to do a well-check on us”

I-love-it-when-you-talk-dirty.gif (500×245)


But things are not as good as they might seem. Kensey is struggeling with his past and his selfworth. He is also keeping some big secrets and Fizzbo is not an idiot. He knows Kensey is hiding things…

093a9a05522b82aa41181959b1791c90.gif (500×276)

Of course, secrets always have a way of coming out….so they do.

I was a bit shocked, to be honest. I was also a bit angry with Kensey. Not because he lied, but because of what he did to begin with. Fizzbo was way more understanding than I would have been. I understand pressure in high school and I can even understand it in college, but he did this and he kept doing it because he didn’t want to face any consequences.

BTVSJudgingYou.gif (300×274)

Now, he didn’t deserve what happened to him in the end, but I don’t think he should have gotten off scot-free either.


That being said…Kensey wasn’t a bad character, I did like the guy. The two of them were perfect together, though at times a bit on the cheesy side…

I enjoyed this one, but I have, to be honest here…

Spongebob GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

…I miss my rock stars!!

imageedit_33_5317824985


amazon-2         coollogo_com-11297536


 

Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

2 thoughts on “~Review~Honor and Pride by Ann Lister~

Leave a Comment

