Posted in Book Blitz, Excerpt, Home, Promotions

~Book Blitz~Part of the List by Xavier Neal~

 

 :

 ~Book Blitz  &  Excerpt~

Today ~DirtyBooksObsession~ Welcomes and Congratulates

 Author Xavier Neal on the new release of the book, Part of the List.

imageedit_87_4983558021

   33819976
Title: Part of the List
Author: Xavier Neal | @XavierNeal87
Release Date: March 9th, 2017

⇒ Add to Goodreads ⇐

imageedit_80_8909769091

 :


 Synopsis

If you were dying, what would be on
the list of moments that mattered most to you? That shaped your life? What
would you choose to remember or choose to ignore even in the face of death? Who
would you miss? What would you regret not doing? Who would you regret not
loving? In the face of your own mortality or in the face of your lover’s, what
would be part of the list?

Buy Links

| Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA |

imageedit_80_8909769091

  :


 Excerpt 

 Kennedy 
I remember the exact moment I fell in love with Bailey.
He was barely fifteen and I was nothing more than the sappy
thirteen year old obsessed with the older, bright eyed, dark brown haired boy
with an accent that would make any country lover proud. It was right before
church, and Bailey was in the same place he always was, the nursery. He loved
to be around kids, but babies were his favorite. There was something about
holding the very beginning of life, a clean slate, an unbiased soul that was
exhilarating to him. Sometimes people forget that hatred isn’t born. It’s bred.
It’s instilled and re-instilled through words as well as actions. Unfortunately
for us that simple truth has haunted us like an unsettled spirit seeking
revenge on a world it was afraid had forgotten it.
 
 I lean against the door frame as he
cradles the infant to his broad, white t-shirt covered chest. He rocks her and
hums his favorite hymn. I do my best to hide my giggles. Only Bailey can get
away with singing Noelle in the middle of August.
 
Slowly, he turns his body to face
mine. With a wide grin he locks eyes with me and states, “Someday, you’re gonna
be holdin’ ours.”
 
A smile hits my lips. I love the
slight twang he’s trying to hide.
 
“She’s gonna be beautiful just like
you.”
 
Thick glasses. Brown hair instead of
the favored blonde. Brown skin by nature, not golden sun kissed like everyone
else I know. A little too full up top. Thighs that most girls would cry over
because they touch. I wear t-shirts at the pool to hide those flaws. I mean, my
teeth are straight and I have less zits than most girls my age, but my face is
fatter. I don’t wear makeup. I’ve never even had my eyebrows plucked. No part
of me is worthy of being called beautiful. Not even a little.
 
“And she’s gonna have your dimple,
too.”
 
I want to argue that the hole in my
cheek created when I smile isn’t an enhancement, it’s an embarrassment, but
Bailey doesn’t wait for my response. He simply winks and returns to singing.
 
All of a sudden Mrs. Kathy places the
infant she had been holding in one of the cribs and scolds “Don’t go making
promises in the Lord’s house you don’t plan to keep, Bailey Cooper.”
 
“Oh, I plan to keep it, Mrs. Kathy…”
He glances up to give me another smirk. “See, I love Kenny. Always have. Always
will.”
imageedit_80_8909769091

About the Author

Xavier Neal lives in Texas where she spends her time getting lost in writing, reading,
or fandoms she recently discovered. Whether she is enjoying books or movies,
she continues finding inspiration at every turn to bring more exciting stories
to life.
 
 

Social Media

 

 | Facebook | FB.Group | Twitter Instagram |

|Goodreads PinterestNewsletter |

imageedit_80_8909769091

 
B&B Promotions

 imageedit_87_4983558021


Posted in *****5 Stars*****, Books Highly Rec., By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Highly Rec., Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Review~Broken by Nicola Haken~

 

20646135

wendy1

imageedit_70_8950357928

Broken by Nicola Haken

*****5 Stars*****transp


OMG…this book did a number on me.

 photo 11916978_zpsi1ueesky.gif

Though this was not an easy read…it was a very beautiful one. Facebook Heart Emoticon

I do want to point out the warning in this book because there are some serious triggers and this book doesn’t pull any punches. I’m not going to spoiler it too much…just saying.


Theodore is a very happy out and proud gay man.

He has good friends, a nice family and he has recently started working a new job at a big publishing house. Which for Theodore is awesome, because he loves books and is secretly writing books himself. When he’s out with his friends and new colleagues, he meets a mysterious and very sexy man in the bathroom. Theodore is not the kind of man, who normally has one night stands and he doesn’t hook up just for sex. This guy, however, pushes all his buttons…so he ends up in a stall, getting pounded by a stranger. The stranger leaves right after when Theo is still pulling up his pants…Of course, he feels guilty afterward and is disgusted with himself…but what’s done is done and for some reason, he can’t stop thinking about this guy.


James is the CEO, of a big publishing company.

His father died not too long ago leaving everything to him. He doesn’t have any friends because he doesn’t want to. He’s not really close with his family. He had a great bond with his father and he has a little one with his brother. He absolutely adores his niece, though. He’s rude, arrogant and is viewed by many as an asshole. He fucks around a lot and has a reputation because of it at work….he is, however, the boss.


But this, not all that James is.

He is so much more and he is so very troubled. My heart broke for James. Even though he was an asshole, in the beginning, I felt an instant connection with his character.

He was hurting so much….

 photo 3187799813_1_4_8Whsnpjg_zpskpny2nep.gif


When Theo finally meets the boss (with all his reputations), he’s not happy to find out it’s the same man, he had a rump within the bathroom. James, however, is very interested in Theo. Theo does everything to avoid him. But when he’s forced to help James out one night, he starts to find out that things aren’t always as they seem. They sort of become friends first…

…not for long though because there is major chemistry between this men. 😛


 But James is struggling…so he lays everything in the open, even though he knows chances are that Theo will leave him if he finds out the truth. Theo doesn’t of course….his love is unconditional and damn I loved Theo for everything he had to go through with James. He was so strong and he never gave up.

His love for James was epic…

 photo tumblr_lpve0ogV981qke24wo1_500_zpshjt1chet.gif


Like I said…this is not an easy book. It is very raw, but also very real.

People struggle with mental illness every day…I myself have anxiety, but some of my close friends struggle with depression and self-harm. I liked that this book didn’t hold back….it was very real and heartbreaking, but also beautiful. It shows that we all need love and hope and that there can be…

…Light in the darkness.

 photo 758056_zpsnqyuvhpe.gif

I loved it !! By the way….these guys were so hot together. Emoticon in love

imageedit_70_8950357928


amazon-2        coollogo_com-11297536


Posted in *****4.5 Stars*****, ****4 Stars****, Books in / & Series Highly Rec., By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Series, Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Dark Space series by Lisa Henry~

 

16174363

wendy1

imageedit_64_6217366192

Dark Space (Dark Space #1) by Lisa Henry

*****4.5 Stars*****

imageedit_402_9293335776


Well, what do you know? I have read my second sci-fi book this week and again…

…I loved the hell out of it.

latest (400×225)

I was already in a sci-fi vibe from the last book, so I figured, why not give this one a go. I’m still shocked by how much I enjoyed reading this book. Guess I am more into sci-fi than I thought.

Anyways, I am gonna try and keep this review short, because there are plenty of awesome reviews on this book already.


Let’s start with Brady….my favorite. 😉

aff483e5920124a827d79ba0b5ab3dcf.jpg (542×721):

Brady is 19 years old and has been working on a space station for the last 3 years. The reason they are in space…to protect the earth from aliens….or “faceless” as they are called. Brady is scared to death of space and of the faceless, but being drafted..he had no other choice. He really wants to go home to his sick father and his baby sister, but he still has years to serve. Brady is a bit of an angry dude, so I really connected with him from the start.


He is of the opinion that life in general sucks…

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor hocus pocus + gif

and his thoughts throughout this book, made me laugh out loud…


I really understood where he was coming from. Being locked in dark outer space for the last 3 years…the life slowly being sucked out of you… all the while being afraid of freaking aliens coming and destroying you and anything around you.

fabb816b64d93784b2f194d4a70d3105.gif (480×204)


His fears and his pessimism get even worse when one day an alien pod arrives, within it a lieutenant that was kidnapped 4 years ago.

Lieutenant Cameron Rushton…

thomas_mcdonnell.jpg (550×825):

Brady is called to the medic bay to come help, but when he helps to cut Cameron out of the pot, he gets injured and comes in contact with the strange fluid surrounding Cameron. Apparently, this causes a bond between the two of them and soon it becomes clear that Cameron can’t survive without Brady. He needs Brady’s touch and heartbeat to stay alive. Brady sort of functions as his battery. Fucked up…but there you have it.

“You’re my heartbeat, Brady .”


Cam also has a message….the faceless are coming…Which makes Brady even more neurotic than he already was. He is convinced they are all going to die and…

…this is his motto for most of the book. 😛

24910b465157d1629f924fa6eaf95286_download-upload-gif-were-all-going-to-die-gif_320-180.gif (320×180)


There is also a plus to all this, though. Because Cam can’t survive without Brady, the two of them are forced to stay together in their private little world. They share almost everything…including each other’s thoughts and fears. Touching becomes more and more urgent…

…which made for some very nice and steamy scenes…

tumblr_n0ummda1WY1s2fw3ko1_500.gif (500×219)

But “the faceless” are coming….and what will happen then…


Huh…guess my review isn’t as short as I promised…

4M3rR.gif (500×210)

I really enjoyed this one…I especially loved Brady and his anger and pessimism…

I can’t wait to see what’s gonna happen in book 2. I also want to thank my sweet, sweet friend, Susan, for recommending this one to me…Thanks, babe. 😉

imageedit_64_6217366192


amazon-2          coollogo_com-11297536


 

20700258

wendy1

imageedit_64_6217366192

Darker Space (Dark Space, #2) by Lisa Henry

****4 Stars****

4gghj



After finishing book 1 and loving it, I jumped right into this one.

Brady and Cameron have come home and are taking care of Lucy. They still work for the military and they still get tons of medical and psych evaluations, because of their interaction with “the faceless”. Now that they are back with Lucy and in a relationship together, they should be doing great….only they are not.

Especially Brady is struggling. He feels lost now that his physical and mental connection with Cam is gone. He feels unworthy a lot of the time and boy …

…he is one angry little dude…

wO5nHOS.gif (500×241)

I still loved him to pieces though and I totally got where he was coming from.


Cameron seems to be doing a bit better…but where the black still freaks Brady out…Cam really misses space.

He misses being out there, close to the stars.

giphy.gif (500×385)

Things are about to change, though because guess what….

fd9.gif (478×267)

Yep, the aliens are back…or well Kai-Ren is.


It starts with dreams and it soon evolves to Cam and Brady hearing Kai-Ren and their psychic connection being restored. They try to keep things a secret, but with the military up in their butts, that’s not as easy as it sounds, especially when said military consists of a bunch of assholes. At least we still had Brady being his mouthy self. 😉

He was very specific about what he thought of them.

JG1wgue.jpg (214×236):


This major clusterfuck eventually leads the guys back to space…where Brady is doing his very best not to freak the fuck out. This is a hard feat for him, especially when Lucy gets envolved and some stupid officers make some very stupid mistakes.

I really enjoyed this second book and I am so glad I have read it because I needed to understand who Kai-Ren was and what he wanted. Now I still don’t know everything, but things are much clearer to me and I have to admit….I actually like the dude.Yes Susan…I admit you were right !!

I now have a weak spot for Kai-Ren

200_s.gif (200×200):


Brady is still my favorite, though. I know he was a bit dark in this book and a whole lot angry, but I actually liked that about him. I loved being inside his head. I also loved that he finally made peace with everything…including himself.

”Am I your heartbeat again?”
“You always have been.”

photoalbum_215111758_user2792997-1.gif~c200 (200×200)

I hope there will be the next book soon because…

I am very curious to see what’s gonna happen next.

imageedit_64_6217366192


amazon-2          coollogo_com-11297536