Posted in *****4.5 Stars*****, ****4 Stars****, Books in Series, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Series, Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Cole McGinnis Series by Rhys Ford~

 

 :  :


Cole McGinnis series by Rhys Ford

Series Highly Recommended!

Genre: M/M, Mystery/Suspense, Romance


amazon-2
coollogo_com-11297536


11787563

wendy1

Dirty Kiss (Cole McGinnis #1)


yFQ0czb.png (3100×573):


 I don’t know why it took me so long to start this series, but I’m very glad that I finally jumped into the Cole McGinnis train. Susan and Elsbeth said that I just had to listen to the audio, so I did both. Reading while listening and damn they were right. This audio was awesome !! I gave this book 3,5 stars, but I’m rounding up to 4 stars for the amazing audio by Greg Tremblay !! e59d1437da4259a8e2b7f0b9af072129.jpg (240×200):


I am a big sucker for mystery/suspense stories, so this book was right up my ally.

Cole McGinnis is a former cop turned PI. Cole is still struggling with the death of his lover, at the hands of his best friend and former partner. Cole hasn’t been interested in other men ever since. This is all about to change, though when his brother hires him to investigate the suicide of a Korean man (Hyun-Shik).

During his investigation, he meets Jae-Min, a cousin of Hyun-Shik. He feels an instant attraction for the hot Korean and when he learns Jae is also gay, he can’t hold back anymore. These two men were damn hot together and Greg Tremblay’s narrating made it even hotter !!

Chilled Sickness.:   11433213.gif (500×252)


Jae and Cole both get hurt, bodies start dropping everywhere and all the while these two men start falling deeper and deeper for each other. But things aren’t simple or easy. Jae knows that as a Korean man, he can’t come out to his family, without losing them. He is expected to marry and have children. If they find out he’s in a relationship with a man, they would cut him out of his life and Jae isn’t ready for that to happen. I have to say that even though I tried to understand things from his point of view…he still frustrated the shit out of me.

giphy.gif (500×263)


Cole was awesome though and at times I wondered why he just didn’t walk away. Then again Jae certainly had his sweet moments, where he showed how much he cared for Cole.

d323ff0fab7ad86fd5cfd82e88eb5865.jpg (403×257):


So why 3,5/4 stars and not 5 ??

Well, this ends on an HFN, which I am fine with, but there were some things that were left open that bothered me. Such as the dinner they were supposed to have with Cole’s (asshole) father. I have no idea if this will be in the next book, but I was very curious to find out what was gonna happen. Also, I kind of hated Cole’s brother who was supposed to be a good guy. The way he talked down to Cole about him being gay, made me want to smash a chair in his face !!!

tumblr_m3ijvvPump1qcuxxdo1_500.gif (500×370)


This was an awesome start to this series and I’m gonna jump into book 2 right away. Can’t wait to find out what happens next !!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


 

16153554

wendy1

Dirty Secret (Cole McGinnis #2)

star+4.jpg (1590×276):


After finishing book 1, I jumped right into this one. I have a feeling I will be reading the books in this series in one sitting (maybe I will take a break to actually sleep).

I have a confession, though. This book confused the crap out of me. :p

shiftyeyes.gif (500×170)


I didn’t know what was going on and there were so many people. All Korean and all with weird names I couldn’t remember or understand.

e8e18e1626e181d7a49317def1ea4449.gif (500×281)


Then, I remembered Susan telling me not to get too caught up in all the names, so I let it go and just enjoyed the story 🙂 The mystery part might have been a bit confusing and bodies were dropping left and right. Just when I thought I had everything figured out towards the end….

..it turned out I didn’t even know who the killer was !!!

JaLzk_s-200x150.gif (200×150)


But you know what…I don’t even care. This book was awesome! I loved Cole and Jae together. I loved seeing how they got closer and closer and damn they were HOT.

They even broke the freaking bed!

800792.gif (400×200)


I loved all the side characters….except for Cole’s fucked up parents. Even Mike got back on my good side, for sticking up for his brother.

I can’t wait to find out what happens next, jumping straight into book 3.

regina-hall-popcorn-gif.gif (500×270)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


 

17831490

wendy1

Dirty Laundry (Cole McGinnis #3)

4.5-stars-only.jpg (1083×363):


Well, this was another awesome read! This series just keeps getting better and better.

19012901.gif (500×240)


This is also the first book, where I could actually follow the mystery plot..I even knew who the killer was !!

Yay me !!

tumblr_mowxe989yb1s4yfn5o1_500.gif (418×360)

It could have been, because of the chart that was in the book, but I’m just going with the fact that I’m really smart 😛


This was also the first book in the series that made me cry… Damn these guys don’t have it easy. There was this one point, where I wanted to throttle Jae !! A few pages later, though, I wanted to hug the shit out of him. Thankfully Cole was still his funny self, even though his heart was hanging on by a thread, people’s brains were exploding in his face and everyone wanted to kill him. So there was still plenty to laugh about.

57370268.jpg (400×400):


And let’s not forget about the steamy scenes !! These two are still as hot as they were in the beginning….HOTTER even !!

giphy.gif (500×320)


I have no idea what’s gonna happen next, but I can’t wait to find out. These men have definitely deserved a spot in my top 10 of favorite couples !!

Next one, please !!

16161185.gif (380×177)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


20345930

wendy1

Dirty Deeds (Cole McGinnis #4)

teaserbox_2453512845.jpg (703×245):


So far this book is my favorite in the series. It was a little less fast-paced and the plot was very easy to follow. It also had less blood and gore…though there was still some.

Cole and Jae finally took the next step in their relationship…at least this was what it felt like to me. They were solid….and reading how far they have come together, was a beautiful thing.

0702feb52d0df5508bc72c10d0e7dc91.gif (470×198)


We also get an awesome scene with Cole bottoming for Jae for the first time. I have been waiting for that to happen since book 1 !!! It was HOT !!!

21321_original.gif (500×273)


I loved the little reference to Sam, Jory, Aaron and Duncan. Mary Calmes is one of my favorite authors and Sam and Jory are my number one favorite mm couple. It was a very nice surprise to see their names come by.

I have already finished book 5, which is Bobby and Ichy’s story, so I only have one more book about Cole and Jae to go. I really hope there will be some answers about Ben. I really want to know, what drove the man to madness.

334696a939060c264d55ef4cc135436f.gif (472×300)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


22906910

wendy1

Down and Dirty (Cole McGinnis #5)

3-5star.png (1276×256):


This is the 5th book in this series and also the first book that is not about Cole and Jae. This is Bobby and Ichy’s story. Even though this book was quite enjoyable…to me the MC’s, couldn’t hold a candle to Cole and Jae.

I loved Bobby in all the previous books, but that’s the thing. I loved him being Cole’s best friend and for me, I would have been happy with him just staying that way. For some reason, I felt bad for Cole…like he was gonna lose his best friend to his brother.

0514e7d8aa42f8591096801a3d2091c21b4b3d-wm.jpg (640×920):

I know Cole didn’t see it like that, but I just couldn’t help feeling that way…


The plot also isn’t the same as the others books. For one, there aren’t any brains exploding. I missed all the mystery and excitement. For me, the best parts of this story were the parts Cole was in. This book takes place around the same time as book 4 and there isn’t really a whole lot going on, except for Bobby and Ichy’s growing relationship. Cole’s story (book 4) is in the background.

The whole marriage proposal also pissed me off…I want Cole and Jae to get married…not them. Sigh….I might me a bit bitter… I liked the part with Jamie, Bobby’s son, but I also think their situation was a bit too easily fixed.

I have high hopes for book 6, which is about Cole and Jae again…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


29483541

wendy1

Dirty Heart (Cole McGinnis #6)

4.5.png (1600×409):


This book was the wonderful end of a wonderful series. What am I gonna do with myself now that I have finished this series.

 I’m gonna miss these guys so much !!!

watdoidotumblr_m1gsl0ryyc1rrx8xeo7_r1_250.gif (245×145)


I was a bit disappointed with the previous book (Bobby and Ichy) because there was a lack of people getting shot and action. Thankfully that wasn’t the case with this book.

There was plenty of shooting going around

kenny.gif (288×192)


Cole and Jae were their usually HOT selves….

21459224.gif (500×263)


And we finally got an answer to the question…why did Ben go batshit crazy !! I have to say, I really didn’t see that one coming….

QI7OASN.gif (260×109)


So why 4,5 stars and not 5? Well, that’s because of Bobby and Ichy getting married before Cole and Jae !! This little fact still pisses me off..what can I say…I’m a bitter person.

I really hate saying goodbye to this awesome couple, but thankfully there are always re-reads.

“Saranghae-yo, Cole-ah. Together we’re all that’s important”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

