Posted in ****4 Stars****, Books Highly Rec., By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Highly Rec., Reviews by ~Simone~

~Review~ Full Throttle by Nasia Maksima

 

30285079

simone1

Full Throttle (Dirty Angels #1) by Nasia Maksima

****4 Stars****

4stel-like


Two men. One passion.

tumblr_m8tyxma79r1r8omuyo1_500.gif (500×213)


Now that sounds a bit like a movie tagline, but it is not that far-fetched because you get a certain Fast and Furious vibe right from the beginning. Since I’m  an adrenaline junkie at heart – umm, and only at heart, not in reality! 😉 – and a sucker for those movies, I was hooked from the start.

Luc and Jesse are two men as different as they come and yet they have so much in common. Aside from their love for street racing, both are on the verge of being forced to live a life they despise, but they desperately try to live up to their fathers expectations, nonetheless.


Luc, son of a Governor by day and leader of an illegal street racing crew consisting man in shadows: mostly of his siblings by night, comes from a wealthy family.

Already having disappointed his father once and threatened to get separated from his family and friends if this ever happens again, he attempts to stay out of trouble to follow his father’s only mantra of “don’t embarrass the family“. Obviously, this proves to be not as easy as it sounds with his secret hobby and the fact that he is gay, something no one can know about, not by any means.


Jesse, son of the Police Chief and living in rather poor circumstances, lives in constant fear of getting beaten up by his Oliver Dale by Alex Brennan-Kearns: abusive alcoholic father.

Believe me, I hated the guts of Jesse’s father with all my heart. Jesse is on the brink of passing an exam that gets him accepted into the FBI, though everything he wants is getting into an elite mechanical engineering grad program at the university.


Jesse’s dream is to be accepted into Luc’s team, the Dirty Angels, to get a starting place in a race that got his brother killed one year ago. On the one hand, he wants to know more about the circumstances of the accident, which is proven to be caused by sabotage and on the other hand he wants to win this race, both for his brother and for himself to prove that he can make it.


There is a lot of chemistry between Luc and Jesse and sparks fly right from the beginning, even if it is a constant back and forth because of Luc trying to hold on to his own mantra of I’m not gay.

The whole story is an accomplished combination of racing scenes, rivalry, loveable characters, family drama, romance and hot sex scenes. And dirty talk. Lots of it. I just love it when the supposedly weaker guy (weaker in terms of his build) takes charge and bosses the other one around. 😉


The writing style is great and the story is – albeit not literarily challenging – very enjoyable.

I really loved it. Well, at least up until roughly 90%… Then it turned into something that was a bit too melodramatic, too soap-opera-y and B-movie style for my liking. Although the ending is satisfying when the ‘bad guys’ got their come-uppance, I really wish the author would have found a better solution. This definitely spoiled it a bit for me and kept me from giving a better rating. I’m definitely looking forward to a sequel, though.

imageedit_48_4505026672

 


amazon-2   coollogo_com-11297536


 

Author:

First of all, I'm not a native English speaker, but I hope my reviews are understandable, nonetheless. Reading is my not-so-secret passion, but I'm working full-time and own a horse, so unfortunately my reading time is limited. I take my Kindle everywhere I go, so can spend every free minute reading. I'm officially a M/M book addict! A few years ago I discovered this genre and since then M/F books just don't do it for me anymore. I try to keep my reviews as spoiler-free as possible and just want to express my impressions and feelings for the books I've read.

Leave a Comment

