Posted in *****5 Stars*****, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, Reviews by ~Simone~

~Review~ Guns n’ Boys: Homicidal Instinct by K.A. Merikan

 

30357511

flamingtext__24911586714826776

Guns n’ Boys: Homicidal Instinct (Guns n’ Boys #3)

*****5 Stars for my favorite in this series so far******

imageedit_383_9917494144


“You loved the lifestyle you had with the Family, so when you chose me over them… That’s everything I could have wanted.”

I don't imagine Sam with a tattoo, but I like the pose.:


OH. MY. GOD.

It was probably a good thing that I already wrote most of my review yesterday, even though I had the ending of the book still ahead of me, otherwise it would have ended in utter chaos. I told a friend last night that I needed to go to bed but decided to read one or two more pages. Bad idea, Simone. Bad idea. At least in regards to my sleep. Of course, I was not done with one or two pages. All sleep was forgotten, I could not put it down anymore. I’m dead-ass tired today, but this book is so worth it!!!

With Dom being put out of commission due to his injuries and the amnesia he suffered at the end of the previous book, this time it is Seth’s turn to take responsibility in order to keep them safe. Without any plan, only his determination to protect Dom at any cost, Seth sees himself in the leading role to escape killers left and right, which turns into a road trip to hell until the end of the book. I loved him for his efforts, for his intentness, for how far he would go, despite being in way over his head.


To add insult to injury, he has a hard time adapting to the possibility that Dom might never regain his memory and will not remember anything about their time together, but he tries to repose confidence in their love for each other which is still there and will hopefully prove to be enough in the end.

I am amazed at his sweetness, at his gentle character, at how gullible he still can be, despite everything both men have been through. Sometimes, though, I still wanted to shake him and smack him upside the head for his naivety. Maybe somebody should have told him that parading in front of a TV camera is not the way to go while trying to escape the mafia. He really should know by now what The Family – his family – is capable of and the methods they use to achieve their goal.

I never thought it possible that I could love Dom even more than before. Not able to remember anything from his past and despite his innate predatory personality, he is set on trusting Seth with everything. I really loved this softer side of him…

… but it was also great to see his “old self” with slightly psychotic tendencies, his jealousy, and his killer instinct shine through occasionally. ;-)To see how he fell for Seth all over again was everything.

Seth grounded him, helped him find his place on Earth when everything else turned into a blur.


The sex scenes were once again burning-the-sheets hot, but after reading more than three books in a row now from these authors, I did not expect anything less. 😉 To my mind, it was each and every tender moment, though, what made them just perfect for each other.

“Don’t force yourself to anything, Dom.” Seth nudged him with his nose. “If it’s meant to be, everything will come back to you.” Domenico shook his head. “But I want to know. Remember what I felt when I first saw you. Everything is so confusing now, but I do know that you are incredibly close to me. There’s this… pull in my chest when I look at you.”


The story itself read like the calm before the storm. Although it was humorous at times, especially due to Dom’s quirks cropping out during their trip, I felt an underlying tension the whole time, even when it was just the two of them together. I expected something to happen at every turn what kept me constantly on the edge of my seat.

And then I came to the end and… God, it almost wrecked me. Full of adrenaline, I could not sit still anymore and my blood pressure was sky high. Well, good luck with going to sleep after such a drama…


To be honest, I thought about taking a break from this series, to read something fluffy in between, because – let’s face it – this story is sometimes so dark and brutal that it is bordering on the stuff that nightmares are made of, but there is no way for me to stop now.

 


but        button-gr


 

Author:

First of all, I'm not a native English speaker, but I hope my reviews are understandable, nonetheless. Reading is my not-so-secret passion, but I'm working full-time and own a horse, so unfortunately my reading time is limited. I take my Kindle everywhere I go, so can spend every free minute reading. I'm officially a M/M book addict! A few years ago I discovered this genre and since then M/F books just don't do it for me anymore. I try to keep my reviews as spoiler-free as possible and just want to express my impressions and feelings for the books I've read.

Leave a Comment

