Posted in ****3.5 Stars****, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, Reviews by ~Simone~

~Review~ Guns n’Boys: He Is Poison by K.A. Merikan

 

30357450

flamingtext__24911586714826776

Guns nBoys: He Is Poison (Guns nBoys #1)by K.A.Merikan

 ****3.5 Stars****

 imageedit_370_2923990547


Good, but... it did not sweep me off my feet like I thought it would.

I had a bit of a hard time to rate this book because I have some mixed feelings about it.Altogether I liked it and I really enjoyed some parts of it, but others… not so much.


Venezuelan model Mario Blanco///Zain:

 

On the positive side, there would definitely be Dom. Honestly? What’s not to love about a gorgeous, dangerous, somewhat unpredictable guy with a bit of an attitude, who sometimes shows his vulnerable side, especially when it comes to the rejection by his own father?

 

Yes, I know, basically, he is a killer, but still…

 


Seth, on the other hand, has attitude, in spades… Unfortunately, not the one that struck a chord with me. This guy was most of the time annoying as hell.

Overall too shallow, with the inclination to put too much emphasis on outward appearances. Well, that was something that bothered me a bit in general about this book. Sometimes I even got the impression I was reading a fashion magazine rather than a mafia story, but that only as a side note, so back to Seth. Kidnapped as the youngest son of a Sicilian Mafia don by the Chinese Triad, being tortured and held captive for several weeks…

… and the first thing that came to his mind when he is being rescued is that the suit his kidnappers gave him was somewhat ill-fitting compared to the one of his savior (Dom). Seriously? Oh, come on. (Maybe you can imagine my eye-roll…) Most of the time his behavior was that of a spoiled brat, not to say a drama queen, and every time he insisted that Dom should not treat him like a baby, I wanted to snap at him “Oh, yeah? Then don’t behave like one!”


Thank God, it got better towards the end, at least a bit, as well as the development of the relationship between Dom and Seth. At first, I didn’t really feel the connection between these two, especially because Dom had no problem with sharing Seth. Of course, it all based on sex at the beginning and since this is just the first book in a series I guess it will deepen, so I don’t want to judge it too hard.


Well, said sex  can only be described with one word:


Admittedly, at the beginning, it was somewhat dub-con cough, but since Seth could enjoy it, I could do the same. 😉 Surprisingly, the fact that Dom and Seth are half-brothers didn’t bother me overly much, either. Surprisingly, I should add, because normally, I’m a bit sensitive in that regard.

The writing style itself was okay, I guess, but the metaphors that the authors used were sometimes definitely a tad OTT for my liking, e.g.

“He seemed as shy as a stallion ready to be mounted for the first time. Yearning for that saddle, but not ready to accept it.”

Umm, as you can imagine, that got another eye-roll… Thank God, it didn’t happen overly much.


.:

 

So, I love to read a dark and twisted story now and then, and the ending made me curious about what will happen next, of course, I will go straight on to the next book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


but       button-gr


Author:

First of all, I'm not a native English speaker, but I hope my reviews are understandable, nonetheless. Reading is my not-so-secret passion, but I'm working full-time and own a horse, so unfortunately my reading time is limited. I take my Kindle everywhere I go, so can spend every free minute reading. I'm officially a M/M book addict! A few years ago I discovered this genre and since then M/F books just don't do it for me anymore. I try to keep my reviews as spoiler-free as possible and just want to express my impressions and feelings for the books I've read.

Leave a Comment

