Posted in *****5 Stars*****, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, Reviews by ~Simone~

~Review~ Insurrection by Arshad Ahsanuddin

 

~Review~ by ~Simone~

30807511

Insurrection (The Interscission Project #3)

*****5 Stars*****

36cfd98ea7dd21825d688174c3efda96

         Impending-book-hangover-from-hell material


How-To-Travel-Back-In-Time-Spell.jpg (720×576):

.. might be the only way to save the future.


But what are you willing to give? What are you willing to risk? I know I have said something similar in my review for Azimuth, but in this book it gets even more apparent what might be at stake…

I have to apologize in advance, in case this review turns into rambling. I was so absorbed in the story, my feelings are still all over the place… Where the hell do I even start??? Well, the beginning might be a good starting point.


Back to the roots seems to be the motto of the first chapters. You get teleported back to the time when everything began when certain events are set in motion. You learn more about the incident that costs the life of the parents of Marty and his twin Jacob. You learn more about how all the characters, who were involved in enabling time travels, met. You learn more about their pasts and what led them to make certain decisions that have an impact on their futures lives. You learn more about the relationship of Martin and his first love Charles, and you definitely wish to learn more about what could have been…


tumblr_obqd31YuOD1tylr0uo1_500.gif (499×750)Back in the timeline of the events at the end of Azimuth, for Martin and Edward (and all the others) everything seems to have calmed down after the apparent death of the time traveler Gifford and the threat he posed for their lives. New insights about Martin’s former mentor, Admiral O’Dare and his secret military organization Hourglass, who wants to stop the ostensible threat of time travel for humanity by eliminating everyone who was involved in the first place, brings them back into action.

And time is running out…


Their primal mission is to stop the Admiral from succeeding, only to find themselves suddenly in a position to help him, when everything takes a surprising turn and new possibilities present themselves that might have an alternating effect on their personal past and the people that come along with it.

I know I’m repeating myself – again -, but what a brilliant ride this was! In case you couldn’t already tell, I just loved everything about this book… In fact, I might have loved it more than Zenith and Azimuth, if that is even possible. The reason?


For one, it may be the fact that the story is more focused on personal relationships.

Living life in peace...

Marty kissed him again, more deeply this time, and muttered, “Thank you.””For what?” “For being you.” He stroked Edward’s cheek with one fingertip. “And for coming back to me.” “I love you.” “I love you more.”

 

You get more romance, more intimacy between the characters and..well – although it is not the most important part for me, but I won’t complain, either 😉 – more sexy times.


On the other hand, the aspects of the story are well-balanced.The romance is perfectly integrated into a more thrilling parts, which gives you time to breathe and only makes you feel even more for the characters because you never know what kind of surprise is lurking round the Corner.


The character development, especially Marty’s, is breathtaking.

A hero against his will, willing to take every risk by trying to save his loved ones. He was my hero right from the start and I was glad that did not change one bit and he stayed true to himself over the whole storyline. But all the others are strong characters as well and I have rarely read a series where each and every character was portrayed so authentic and plausible. Just another indication of the outstanding writing style of the author.


Furthermore, you get the chance to be absorbed in the story, to begin with, because the leaps in the timeline, are kept within limits and you are able to read it in one go without scratching your head and wondering sometimes what’s going on.

Although I could have totally lived with the ending as it was…


(well, maybe except for the somewhat ominous epilog), you will never hear me complain about the fact that there will be another book in this series. On the contrary…

I can hardly wait to get my grabby hands on it!Highly recommended!

imageedit_320_6464307077

 


but            button-gr


 

Author:

First of all, I'm not a native English speaker, but I hope my reviews are understandable, nonetheless. Reading is my not-so-secret passion, but I'm working full-time and own a horse, so unfortunately my reading time is limited. I take my Kindle everywhere I go, so can spend every free minute reading. I'm officially a M/M book addict! A few years ago I discovered this genre and since then M/F books just don't do it for me anymore. I try to keep my reviews as spoiler-free as possible and just want to express my impressions and feelings for the books I've read.

Leave a Comment

