Posted in *****4.5 Stars*****, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, Reviews by ~Jan~

~Review~ Walking Wounded: A Novel by Lauren Gilley

 

~Review by ~Jan~

33304357

Walking Wounded: A Novel by Lauren Gilley

*****4.75 Stars*****

imageedit_402_9293335776


The last time I read a Lauren Gilley book I ended up writing only 2 lines about it. Not because I didn’t like it, actually it was the opposite. I liked it too much. One of the best books I’ve read in 2016. It went to my 6 Stars shelf. I just felt that whatever I would write wouldn’t make justice to the amazing story Fearless was.

Here I am again. Tongue tied, overwhelmed and a bit tearful. But I need to make an effort this time because this book deserves it.

This is a best friend to lovers about…

Luke, a writer …and, Hal, senator Maddox’s security man.fanning myself

           

But that is not all. There is another story. A story inside this story that is being told by a secondary character as the story progresses.

“A book about the bravery of ordinary people, and the wounds they carry.”


As soon as I realized that I went like Pffttt!!! Should I skim the story in this story and get to the point? I know… shame on me but give me some slack. I am in an end of the year accelerated mode and trying to rush even my reading. How sad is that???
Off course, I couldn’t do that. Because Lauren Gilley. Because I knew from Fearless how brilliant she is as a storyteller and I had to slow the fuck down and read every single word.
I really don’t know what to say about this to make it justice. So many feels. I just
want to register that both stories found a way to sneak in my heart, tie a string there and play with my emotions.

But it was such a good feeling. There is so much depth and warmth in Lauren Gilley’s writing.

 

For the lovers of steamy reads, the first kiss happens at 62%. Talk about the slow burn. But you should take a chance. Remember Wolfsong?


Walking Wounded: A Novel is a soulful and heartfelt story. It made me wonder about decisions, timing, fear of taking risks, if’s, choices and consequences. I am not sure why but it also made me wonder countless times if I have taken all the opportunities life threw my way. Yes, no, maybe? I have a feeling that I didn’t. As you can see I don’t know a lot of things. But I know one or two things for sure:
.) time goes by and
.)sometimes we take life for granted.

Absolutely loved this story!

 

imageedit_322_2831007450

 


photofacefun_com_1479494818       photofacefun_com_1479494876


 

Author:

I am an obsessive reader. I tend to spill my guts out about the stories I read in order to get closure to start my next one!

Leave a Comment

