Posted in *****5 Stars*****, Books, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M, Reviews by ~Jan~

~Review~ Broken by Nicola Haken

 

~Review by ~Jan~

20646135

Broken by Nicola Haken

Another 2016 favorite. Absolutely stunning!

*****5 Stars*****


Broken is a story that hit very close to home for me.facebook-frown-emoticon
Therefore, it would be easier to rate this book and deal with my misery in a quiet way, but for a strange reason, I feel compelled to spill my guts and trample on my feelings a bit more while I write this. Don’t expect a review. It will be Online Therapy and I won’t blame you if you stop reading this right now.
A long time ago I had a very dear friend as troubled as one of the characters here.


Same as Theo, I had no idea how to help my friend and as I moved to the Uk we grew apart.Today, I thank God after reading this story that there was no LOVE involved between my friend and I, because reading Broken and being able to get inside of both heads – the person who suffers from a mental illness and the person who loves her, destroyed me. I am such a coward.facebook-frown-emoticon


I also feel ashamed and weak because I don’t think I could be as strong as Theo facing the same situation. I would be full of doubts like Theo: Why did he do this to himself? Why did he give up? Why you didn’t talk to me? But the most important one: “Why wasn’t I enough?”


Theo didn’t give up, though.

Broken is not an easy read. It’s a raw and powerful story full of depth and feelings.

Heed the warnings and brace yourself.
I for one am very grateful for the chance to open my mind and learn a little bit more about such a sensitive matter from the point of view of a person who suffers from a mental illness. I am conscious the author barely scratched the complexity of the problem. Still, it gave me a new perspective and made me understand how silly and little it would be to question “Why wasn’t I enough?“ It has nothing to do with it. It’s no one’s fault.



A beautiful and unforgettable story! facebook-comments-emoticon-with-heart-eyes

Scorching hot too! 36564-big-smile-emoticon-for-facebook

Highly Recommend! sparkling-heart-symbol-for-facebook

 


photofacefun_com_1479494818         photofacefun_com_1479494876


 

Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

