Posted in ****3.5 Stars****, ARCs Reviews, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, Reviews by ~Wendy~

~Review~ Offside by Alison Hendricks

 

~Review by ~Wendy~

33283363

Offside (Eastshore Tigers #4)by Alison Hendricks

****3..5Stars****

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor 3,5 stars


I liked this fourth book in the series, but I have to say that out of all the books in this series, this was my least favorite one.I enjoyed it, but it also pissed me off.


 The Reason for my pissiness….Lance. It’s hard to really like a book when you dislike one of the main characters. The plus side, however, is that I loved Beau who was the reason I kept on keeping on.

I don’t want to say too much and risk giving away spoilers, so I’m keeping this short.


Lance is, or I should say was a big time NFL player for the Jaguars.

He has recently stepped down and everyone and his mother  will have an opinion why.
Most think it has to do with the divorce he’s going through at the moment. Lance and his best friend Xavier are the only ones who know the truth about why he stepped out.


Beau is an out and proud gay man, playing college football for the Eastshore Tigers.

Now this is the rainbow-friendly club, that has been in the previous books, but I have to say that there weren’t any (main) characters from the previous book present. Beau is struggling a bit in life. His father is a mean-ass drunk and his mother left some years ago to be with another man and start a new family. Beau isn’t really a happy camper, but he pretends to be….and he uses way too much alcohol, to help him with this charade he has going on.                  

 


These two men meet by chance at the roadside and Beau is starstruck. He invites Lance to come and watch him (and the rest of the team) play. This event leads to Lance being offered a job as an offense coach for the Eastshore Tigers, which he accepts.

As the story continues, the two of them become closer and closer… and that’s all you’re going to get from me.


As to the reason why I didn’t like Lance, I can’t say too much, without giving away more of the storyline. You will just have to read it yourself and form your own opinion and chances are, you won’t agree with me. I do have to say that he redeemed himself before the end, but for most of the book, I just didn’t agree with the choices he made.

I also found that this book lacked a bit of info, it felt as though some things were missing. I wanted more info about Lance and his (previous) marriage. I wanted a bit more about both their families and how they grew up. All that would have helped with their character development. Now I just felt like I didn’t really know them. The story dragged a bit in the middle and this would have been the perfect moment to get into those things.


I was also a bit disappointed about the steam level. Sure there were a few hot scenes, but they were over in a flash and I felt a bit robbed. I don’t need a lot of steam in my M/M books…….oh who am I kidding…..

3,5 stars from me


 ARC of  Offside was kindly provided  by the author, in exchange for an honest review.


photofacefun_com_1479494818          photofacefun_com_1479494876


Leave a Comment

