Posted in *****4.5 Stars*****, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Highly Rec., Reviews by ~Simone~

~Review~ Five Minutes Longer by Victoria Sue

~Review by ~Simone~

32856461

Five Minutes Longer by Victoria Sue

*****4.5 stars and highly recommended*****

imageedit_402_9293335776

 

It was love at first sight…


Umm, no, I am not referring to the two main characters, but to me and this book.

It was so insta-cover-love!!! Yeah, I know, but I could not help myself. My eyes zoomed in on this book as soon as it popped up on the publisher site. Add the blurb to the mix and all I thought was ‘Yes, please! Give it to meeeeee!’

Now you just have to imagine me wiggling my grabby fingers and you get the right idea. And it did not disappoint. This book was so right up my alley!


It is a sad fact that people are quick to judge, fear and even hate the unknown. They fight things they don’t know and don’t understand, even if it might affect their own children, relatives or best friends. In this case, it is enhanced humans with special and individual abilities you might even call superpowers. The abilities appear without prior warning, mainly in one’s youth and often overnight and those in question suddenly bear a mark, a small scar on their face. Parents who don’t dump their kids or even harm them are pretty rare and other people often consider the enhanced nothing less than monsters.


An agent with the FBI tries to build up a SWAT team consisting of enhanced humans partnered with a ‘normal’ person to unite their strength and cover all possibilities. It is still in a testing phase, for different reasons nobody is very fond of, not the enhanced team members and not even his own boss.

At the same time, this test opens a chance for Finn Mayer, a young man with not diagnosed dyslexia, whose dream is a career with the FBI.


This story was like S.W.A.T. meets X-men meets The Fantastic Four. I loved how Finn wormed his way into the team and into the heart of Talon, the team leader, with his sometimes innocent and naïve and at the same time smart and clever manner. Finn has a big and honest heart and although the team tries to put all kinds of obstacles in his way, he convinces each and every one of them at some point that he would be the right fit for their team. Sometimes his behavior was a tad too childish for me (he is 24 after all, not 18!), but since he realized it himself, it did not dim my enjoyment of the whole story.


And Talon?

A big badass team leader, built like a tank, who became the man he is now because of his difficult past and who develops a soft spot for his partner. Honestly? What’s not to love about him? The way he treats Finn when they are together was adorable and the sex scenes were simply hot.

So, if you love a great mix of action and romance, an excellent worldbuilding and characters who turn from rather anti-heroes into H.E.R.O.E.S., this might be just the right book for you! And I’m still doing a happy dance here since I found out yesterday that this is the great start to a new series! I want to get my grabby hands on the next book ASAP, because the other team members are more than interesting, so to speak, and I cannot wait to read more about them.

Highly recommended!

 

imageedit_324_4175456762


photofacefun_com_1479494818       photofacefun_com_1479494876


 

Author:

First of all, I'm not a native English speaker, but I hope my reviews are understandable, nonetheless. Reading is my not-so-secret passion, but I'm working full-time and own a horse, so unfortunately my reading time is limited. I take my Kindle everywhere I go, so can spend every free minute reading. I'm officially a M/M book addict! A few years ago I discovered this genre and since then M/F books just don't do it for me anymore. I try to keep my reviews as spoiler-free as possible and just want to express my impressions and feelings for the books I've read.

Leave a Comment

