Posted in ****4 Stars****, Books in Series, By Rating, Home, LGBT Books, M/M Series, Reviews by ~Simone~

~Review~Enemies of the State by Tal Bauer

~*~Review by ~Simone~*~

28814263

Enemies of the State by Tal Bauer

(The Executive Office #1)

****4 Stars****

imageedit_368_4911700934


Holy conspiracy…

This book reminded me a bit of a gay version of Olympus Has Fallen and I just couldn’t help it, but the image of Gerard Butler always popped up in my mind’s eye when I visualized Ethan 😉

There were scenes…

… that kept me on the edge of my seat and my eyes glued to my Kindle and I could hardly put it down.


Normally, I don’t do politics, I’m not interested in politics, and –what’s more- I don’t understand politics, so I was reluctant at first to read Enemies of the State at all, but this book made my head spin while I tried to figure out who is an ally and who is a foe and I really enjoyed it. The whole global crisis situation in this book with Islamist extremist attacks and refugees felt tangible and as current as it could be and made the whole reading experience even more interesting.


I took the personal situation of President Jack Spiers and his lead detail Ethan Reichenbach like the rest of the story for what it is: FICTION. Maybe it is a bit unlikely even these days, but hey… who would have thought a decade ago that someday there would be an African-American president residing in the White House and a woman the next presidential candidate? So, why the hell not a gay (or as in this case a demisexual) president? Never say never…


Jack and Ethan were so cute together.

I loved their slow burn relationship. Their text messages plastered a silly grin on my face all the time and I can’t wait to read more about them in the sequel.


I liked the writing style and it sucked me right into the story. After a while, though, it got sometimes a bit too cheesy for me and there were suddenly too many weeping men. Especially Ethan gave me some eye rolling moments round about the middle and the end of the book. Don’t get me wrong, I love it when my heroes show their vulnerable side and I don’t mind men crying, but Ethan just wept too easily for my liking and sometimes it was just… too much. A bit less soap opera and this book would have made it straight to my favorites shelf.


And now, with united forces…… on to book #2!

 

imageedit_314_9003805097


photofacefun_com_1479494818      photofacefun_com_1479494876


Author:

BLOG BOOKS REVIEWS

Leave a Comment

